Baltimore Screenwriters Competition Winners Step Into the Spotlight


Elena Moscatt is one of the Baltimore Screenwriters Opposition winners. She was third in the Shorts group

Baltimore screenwriters competitiveness winners stage into the highlight at the Maryland Institute University of Art to get awards and accolades.


BALTIMORE, MARYLAND -The Baltimore Movie Place of work at BOPA has announced the winners of the once-a-year Baltimore Screenwriters Competitors. The announcement was produced Saturday as portion of the 24th annual Maryland Film Pageant at the Maryland Institute University of Artwork (MICA).

In the 17th year, the annual Baltimore Screenwriters Competition appeals to entries from writers throughout Baltimore and the DMV. The competitors groups are Attributes and Shorts.

The initially place in the Characteristics class went to Teddy Duvall and Casey Pentz for Horror Enthusiasts, while the 2nd location went to C.P. Englander for Mobius Hoops. The third-location winner is Jeffrey Brady for Sanctuary.

In the Shorts classification, initial put went to Dimitri Callwood-Jackson for Appreciate Tradition, while Warren Greenberg won second spot with The Complete Level. Third location went to Elena Moscatt for Crafty Lane.

Judges for this year’s competitiveness had been film field industry experts, like MK Asante, Nina K. Noble, Ken LaZebnik, and Annette Porter.

Winners will acquire hard cash prizes for their operate.

Baltimore Screenwriters Competitors Winners

The yearly Baltimore Screenwriters Competitors is a challenge of the Baltimore Film Place of work in conjunction with movie courses at Johns Hopkins College and Morgan Condition College. Morgan Condition College resources the competition with more aid from the Maryland Film Pageant and Produce Brothers

Functions Classification Winners

Teddy Duvall and Casey Pentz duo are Baltimore Screenwriters Competition winners in the Features category
Teddy Duvall and Casey Pentz won the first position in the capabilities group of the Baltimore Screenwriters Opposition

Very first Place — Teddy Duvall & Casey Pentz, Horror Lovers

Horror Fans displays 35 several years of shared adore and appreciation of films by Teddy Duvall and Casey Pentz. Immediately after extra than 100 torturous days of complete isolation at the peak of the COVID-19 pandemic in New York, Teddy, the Vice President of Branding and Sponsorships at Utopia Media, returned to Baltimore in September 2020. He soon reconnected with his childhood friend, Casey Pentz, who functions at Sheppard Pratt, aiding individuals struggling with psychosis.  The end result of that reunion is Horror Fans. The attribute reveals the duo’s shared interest in horror movies, Baltimore heritage, and the several kinds of fanaticism. This is their 2nd script as a crew.

Next Place — C.P. Englander, Mobius Hoops

C. P. Englander is a flexible, award-profitable screenwriter, playwright, and creator. She has created 8 novels beneath her Rita Boucher pseudonym. Englander, who life and works in Baltimore Metropolis, has won a lot of awards. She is the previous winner of the Passionate Times’ award for best Regency novel. Englander is also a two-time winner of the Baltimore New Media Festival’s short screenplay contest. The Would-Be Witch, a screenplay primarily based on her historical fantasy, was a winner in Ultimate Draft’s Huge Split Contest. A best 10 winner in the nationwide Jewish Performs Challenge competition for The Hebrew Females Burial Society, Englander’s most the latest novel is The Compromised Woman. It was produced in February 2022.

Third Position — Jeffrey Brady, Sanctuary

For Jeffrey Brady, the most effective way to convey to stories is by movies. His passion for motion picture-producing started as a kid, but it was not until finally he bought to substantial college that he started to shift toward his purpose of movie-making. Jeffrey attended Penn Condition, exactly where he graduated in 2020, with bachelor’s degrees in both Film Creation and Electronic Layout. Following graduation, he labored on an unbiased film called A Deer in the Woods. This is the 1st feature-size movie on which Jeffrey has labored. It premiered at Condition College or university on April 28, 2022.

Shorts Classification Winners

Dimitri Callwood-Jackson is one of the one of the Baltimore Screenwriters Competition winners
Dimitri Callwood-Jackson’s Enjoy Tradition won first spot in the shorts class of the Baltimore Screenwriters Competition.

Initial Put — Dimitri Callwood-Jackson, Like Tradition

Dimitri Callwood-Jackson retains a BFA in Screenwriting and Animation from Morgan Point out University in Baltimore, Maryland. An rising screenwriter and director based mostly in the Washington, D.C. metropolitan space, Dimitri has been honing his craft considering that graduating in 2016. As a writer, Dimitri thinks that his objective is to inspire and uplift the marginalized.  This perception carries on to guideline his do the job. Not too long ago, he has centered on composing from the voice and expertise of the Black and Queer.  According to him, his “mission is to explain to stories that commence the proper conversions in black and brown spaces.” His greatest wish is to outcome alter.

Dimitri has been honing his craft given that graduating in 2016. As a author, Dimitri thinks that his reason is to inspire and uplift the marginalized.

2nd Spot — Warren Greenberg, The Total Point

The Entire Position is Warren’s initial penned screenplay.  The animated small emerged from a reworking of a poem Warren wrote close to 1989. The Total Stage has been in a number of screenwriting competitions, where it created some effect.  It arrived at the semi-finals 2 times at the 2021 Page Intercontinental Screenwriting Awards and the 2021 Monitor Craft Animation Screenplay Competitiveness. A graduate of the University of Maryland, Warren Greenberg is new to the screenwriting planet but is speedily producing excellent impressions. He is grateful to his fiancé, Marigo, for encouraging him to pursue his enthusiasm.

3rd Spot — Elena Moscatt, Crafty Lane

Jamie’s Way, a teenager drama filmed in Charles Village, is 1 of the incredibly initially scripted on line net collection by Elena. She developed it in1998. Considering that then, she has worked on a number of other world wide web series that are creating quite a few followers. A person of them is Simply click On This Clearly show, which has around 600 episodes on YouTube and has obtained numerous awards and nominations from the webfest circuit. Elena has been performing in the movie sector considering that the late 1980s. She joined I.A.T.S.E. Nearby 487 in 1992 and began operating in the craft expert services division. Some of her projects involve the Baltimore Next Media WebFest and VR projects. She also established and however operates the Baltimore Screenwriter’s Coffee Club.

Baltimore screenwriters competition winners rejoice beneath the highlight. What do you feel about this year’s winners? Share your views. Depart a remark.


Supply backlink

Next Post

What is a lot in forex?

Forex trading is currency trading, and there are specific amounts traded in currencies called a lot. A “Lot” is used as the measuring unit for transactions and different short, long amounts of currency transactions. There are different sizes of a lot divided into separate categories mini, micro, Nano. In other […]