Depot Basis announces 2021 Arts & Society Award recipients | Newsmakers

For around 20 decades, The Depot Basis has been honoring community artists, historians and local community leaders that lead to inventive and cultural venues by celebrating their achievements through an once-a-year Arts & Culture Awards party held in October at the Historic Union Depot.


The 2021 Depot Foundation Arts & Culture Award recipients depict a various array of fields such as: dance, artwork, historic preservation and neighborhood improvement. 


Nominations are solicited all through the yr from the neighborhood, and a committee comprised of neighborhood members and Depot Basis board members then selects recipients.


“Each yr the Depot Foundation endeavors to recognize people and companies that have a profound influence on the arts, culture or heritage of our region. This year the collection committee has formulated a listing of remarkable nominees,” mentioned Committee Chair Dennis Lamkin in an official assertion. “Having served on the committee for a variety of many years now, I am happy at how quite a few fantastic candidates we are introduced with.” 

Advancement Director Jessica Lind Peterson mentioned, “I am totally thrilled that the basis is bringing properly-deserved recognition to these persons and companies. Specially now, on the heels of the pandemic, artists and local community leaders have worked tirelessly to preserve their art, their companies and their expert services alive. We are hunting ahead to throwing a massive bash and celebrating their hard get the job done, determination and vital contributions to our Duluth local community.”

2021 Depot Foundation Arts & Tradition Award Recipients:

Artist Award: Leah Yellowbird

Life time Artist Award: Ann Aiko Bergeron

Neighborhood Enrichment Award: Lee Stuart & CHUM

Historic Preservation Award: Milissa Brooks-Ojibway

Neighborhood Initiative Award: Zeitgeist

Artist Award: Leah Yellowbird

Leah Yellowbird identifies strongly with her Very first Nations Algonquin-Metis and Anishinaabe heritage. At a younger age, Yellowbird acquired from her aunt how to stick to traditional beading patterns and has been doing the job in this medium her full life. This knowledge, put together with her artistic eye and exploration of colour, has spilled over into the realm of painting, and she is now effectively-regarded for her function in all mediums. Yellowbird experienced the to start with solo exhibit at the American Indian Neighborhood Housing Organization (AICHO) in 2013 and has given that had her perform on display at a assortment of notable areas, which include the Macrosite Art Centre, Plains Museum of Artwork, and the Tweed Museum of Artwork. She was the Grand Rapids Arts artist in residence from 2015 till 2016. There her studio was open to the community and she produced some of her most common pieces to day. Lately, she was commissioned to layout the floor of the new govt setting up in Virginia, Minnesota. Ms. Yellowbird’s operate — originals and reproductions — can be found at Indigenous 1st Artwork & Reward Store in the AICHO Constructing on Next Street in Duluth.

Lifetime Artist Award: Ann Aiko Bergeron

Ann Aiko Bergeron is a Morse-Alumni Distinguished Professor of Theatre at UMD. She teaches courses in jazz and tap dance as properly as motion for actors and acting, and directing programs. Ms. Bergeron is a two-time Fulbright-Hays Seminar awardee, symbolizing American dance and theatre educators both equally in the People¹s Republic of China and later on, in India. Her directing, choreographing, training, visitor workshops, and performances, have taken her across the U.S.A. as well as to China, Australia, England, Finland, Hungary, India, Taiwan, Romania, Italy, Greece and Turkey. In her vocation as a dance/theatre artist, Ann has choreographed over 35 concert dance performs, and directed and/or choreographed in excess of 60 performs and musicals.

Community Enrichment Award: Lee Stuart & CHUM

CHUM supplies unexpected emergency shelter for people and individuals, food stuff shelves in three Duluth neighborhoods, the CHUM Middle, permanent supportive housing, a clinic, and outreach and assist to men and women in Duluth who are going through homelessness, hunger and social isolation. Their food shelf provides much more than 300,000 kilos of foods for thousands of people for every calendar year, and the shelter homes visitors who are homeless, lots of of whom struggle with disability, mental illness or material abuse. Lee Stuart has been leading the organization given that 2013, and has declared her retirement. She will depart CHUM in strongest economic form in the organization’s 47-year background and perfectly-poised to fulfill the wants of the switching earth of homelessness and poverty in the area. Stuart’s leadership, with the help of her team of over 30, has been instrumental in the enhancement of CHUM providers and plans over the past 7 several years.

Historic Preservation Award: Milissa Brooks-Ojibway

Milissa has been concerned in historic organizations in Duluth for additional than 18 decades, initial as Collections Manager for the St. Louis County Historic Modern society and at present as Collections Manager at Glensheen, the historic Congdon estate due to the fact 2016. Statewide, she also serves on the Historic Sources Advisory Committee. She also serves as the secretary of the Friends of the Duluth General public Library Board and is a member of the American Affiliation of College Women of all ages.

Local community Initiative Award: Zeitgeist

Zeitgeist’s dedication to social adjust and their inventive and collaborative strategy to group improvement justifies to be regarded and celebrated. Led by Government Director, Tony Cuneo, the firm contains a theatre, a cafe, a motion picture theatre and an artwork gallery, and by their various and inclusive programming, the group actually stives to make constructive variations in our Duluth neighborhood. Recent initiatives consist of Nutritious Hillside, a application that is effective to tackle overall health disparities and source desires, which was designed to enable Hillside people and stakeholders get by the pandemic as properly as attainable.

2019 recipients contain: Emily Ford, Nathan Bentley, Patricia Burns, Jack Seiler and Jeffrey T. Larson. The 2020 Awards ended up postponed because of to the pandemic.

This year’s celebration will be held in person on Oct 21 at the Historic Union Depot.


Next Post

Stay tunes, an in-human being festival and a submit-vaccine milestone for Aspen

A crowd dances to the new music of New Orleans Revue in the ballroom of Resort Jerome at the JAS June Expertise in downtown Aspen on Friday, June 25, 2021. The party contains four evenings of reside tunes at various venues during the downtown core. The Hotel Jerome checked vaccine […]

You May Like WordPress Theme: Seek by ThemeInWP